Founded in 1921, the Fall River Historical Society's mission is to preserve and protect all manner of artifacts relating to the rich and varied history of the city of Fall River, Massachusetts. The Historical Society is housed in a granite mansion, built in 1843 in the Greek Revival style for Andrew Robeson, Jr., a prominent businessman.
Formerly the Fall River Superior Courthouse, the Romanesque "castle" at 441 North Main Street has long been a landmark building. It is now the Children's Museum of Greater Fall River.
A historic house located at 94 Cherry Street in Fall River, Massachusetts. The house was originally located at the site of the current Fall River Superior Courthouse on North Main Street, and owned by Judge Thomas Durfee. While the exact date of its construction is not known, it is estimated to have been built before 1750. In 1872, the house was moved to its current location on Cherry Street. The house was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.
The story of Lizzie Borden is a hair-raising tale that lives on through her home that is now a bed and breakfast. Lizzie's room, as well as that of her father and stepmother’s, is available for stay if one feels brave enough to do so, but be warned that the house is known for its paranormal activities. The Lizzie Borden House has been named as one of the most haunted places in the United States.
Oak Grove Cemetery is a historic cemetery at 765 Prospect Street in Fall River, Massachusetts. The cemetery was built in 1855 and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. Notable burials include Lizzie Borden.
Located on Fall River’s spectacular waterfront, Carousel #54 of the Philadelphia Toboggan Company has been completely restored to the original splendor of its early days at the historic Lincoln Park. Open seasonally to riders, this priceless relic is housed in an elegant Victorian-style pavilion and features four dozen hand-carved horses prancing to Wurlitzer organ music, hundreds of intricate carvings and detailed paintings of pastoral scenes.
Open since October 2000, the Grimshaw-Gudewicz Art Gallery, is a contemporary art space that presents seven art exhibitions each year. The work shown at the gallery is by regional, national, and international artists.
The Little Theatre, which is one of the oldest theater companies in the United States, mounts three major productions a year. The three-a-season tradition was broken only during World War II.
The Narrows Center for the Arts is on the top floor of an attractive old mill building with spectacular views of Fall River’s pier, the Braga Bridge and Battleship Cove. The Center’s wonderfully sunlit space provides superb acoustics, creating the perfect ambiance for events and programs. The 280-seat concert facility hosts high-quality, national and local performing and visual artists, musicians, writers and performers.
CAN Fall River is where you’ll find information on events for residents, tourists and economic leaders - regardless of age. By promoting cultural events and city activities, CAN Fall River is hoping to showcase the area’s best features to continue to spur growth.
This 8.5-acre park enjoys a spectacular location overlooking Battleship Cove, home of the World War II battleship, U.S.S. Massachusetts. The park hugs the shore of the Taunton River (Mt. Hope Bay) and offers a boardwalk, benches, groves of trees, an antique carousel, public sailing programs, and a three-acre meadow perfect for summer concerts, craft festivals and family picnics.
Fall River Heritage State Park
Fall River, MA 02720
Spread across nearly 600 acres of barrier beach and salt marsh, Horseneck Beach is one of the most popular facilities in the Massachusetts State Forests and Parks system. Located at the western end of Buzzards Bay, the sandy, southwest-facing, 2-mile long beach is breezy all year round, providing excellent wind surfing and a dependable respite from sweltering inland temperatures every summer.
Block Island Ferry is your fastest link to Block Island, Rhode Island.
Located in New Bedford, the Buttonwood Park Zoo is a ten-acre zoo located in the center of Buttonwood Park. It is owned and operated by the City of New Bedford, with the support of the Buttonwood Park Zoological Society. It is the oldest continually operated zoo in Massachusetts and one of the oldest zoos is the United States.
The Southeastern Massachusetts Bioreserve is a large area of protected land just east of downtown Fall River. The purpose of the over 13,600 acre Bioreserve is to protect, restore and enhance the biological diversity and ecological integrity of a large scale ecosystem representative of the region; to permanently protect public water supplies and cultural resources; to offer interpretive and educational programs; and to provide opportunities for appropriate public use and enjoyment of this natural environment.
Copicut’s 516 acres are an integral part of the Southeastern Massachusetts Bioreserve, one of the largest unfragmented forests in eastern Massachusetts. A gateway to the 13,600-acre Southeastern Massachusetts Bioreserve, Copicut Woods boasts upland forests, wetlands and waterways, and remnants of a vibrant agricultural past. This 516-acre property is both a prime destination and the southern gateway to the Southeastern Massachusetts Bioreserve.